The Real Truth About Trade Show Magic -And a Lot More! By Eddie Tullock, Gene Urban, and Kenton Knepper

I have already mentioned in my last entry that I planned to talk about various books on trade show magic which are on sale to the magic community and give my opinion of them. Here is my first “review” if that is the correct word.

This particular book is my favourite of all mainly because I am a fan of Eddie Tullock. A number of decades ago I had a chance to go down and see him working in London, England. I think he only visited the UK twice. What happened is that I was working at a travel exhibition somewhere and an attendee remarked that he had seen a magician at another trade show venue not too far away,  doing one of the very same card tricks that I did. It was Eddie Tullock. I was tempted to go down and watch him  work but I never got the chance to do so. I have always regretted that.

I have already posted a couple of video clips of his work on this blog so you can appreciate his style. Slightly brash and aggressive with a lot of humour. He got the crowds and did a good selling job of the product too while entertaining everyone.

This excellent book has been of great value to me and I am sure it would be of great value to others too. It is divided into two parts. The first consists of down to earth, street wise advice which works well in the world of real life trade show work. It reads as if Eddie is in the room right with you talking face to face in his straight forward, no mincing of words, no punches pulled style of talking. He gives valuable advice on your act, your props, your performance attitude, your table, your voice, what to charge, the location of the booth and much, much more. The only thing absent and in fact it is missing in most of the books I have read on the subject is actually how to get work in the first place. Eddie does cover it a tiny bit but nowhere near enough

The second part of the book covers the actual tricks that Eddie used in his act and they are all entertaining and by coincidence they are ones that I have been doing for years myself. I can therefore endorse them first hand through my own experience and confirm they are entertaining and startling.

This is a great book on trade show magic and I thoroughly recommend it.

.

 

Leave a Reply

